Some thoughts on book recommendations

I don’t have a review today.  The reason for this is that I am reading my massive ‘Collected Tales of H.P Lovecraft’, which is over 1000 pages and I am also reading ‘The Beauty Myth’ by Naomi Wolf.  ‘The Beauty Myth’, in particular is going to be quite a big post, it has given me a lot to think about and has also lead to the discovery of a lot of opinions, so I want to take my time on that one and do it justice.  In the meantime, I have a couple of thoughts on book recommendations that I wanted to share.

I was recently out having a coffee with a friend of mine and she had recently finished ‘The Girl with all the Gifts’, which I had recommended to her ages ago. As an aside you should totally read that book, it is wonderful, thought-provoking, beautiful, with one of the most perfect endings I have ever read in my life. She said that she loved it, that she couldn’t put it down and that I always make really good recommendations.

I have another friend who I recently recommended ‘Name of the Wind’ to, similarly, she is loving it and I believe is onto the next book in the series and is in love with Kvothe (let’s face it, who isn’t?), and was a bit depressed when she recalled that I told her the third book isn’t out yet and likely won’t be for a while.

So, I do a good recommendation on a personal level and I can generally tell what kind of books people will like and as I read all genres, I generally have a pretty good level of book knowledge. Not great, but pretty good. Which leads me to my issue, on this blog I review pretty much every book that I read – or at least I try to as it is one of my aims for the following year,  I am aiming to do one blog post a week, posted on a Sunday at 6pm – but I don’t think it gives a really good sense of what books I particularly enjoyed or would recommend. So I am currently trying to work out how to improve on this.  In addition, there are some books which I have read in the past and loved but have never done a blog post on them.  Things like ‘Anne of Green Gables’, and that whole series.  I think it is one of those books that you read as a child and loved and therefore it always sticks with you.  I only read the full series 3 years ago, as as a child/teen I had only ever had copies of ‘Anne of Green Gables’ and ‘Anne of Avonlea’, and it was so wonderful to finally finish the whole series, but it didn’t really feel appropriate for a blog post.  In the same way I recently read ‘Are you there God, it’s me, Margaret’ by Judy Blume for the first time.  I didn’t enjoy it, I am too old, but I know that it is one of those books that is adored by a huge readership, so I didn’t want to do a blog post on it as it wouldn’t have added anything as a whole.

However books like this I would like to feature in some way, so what I am thinking I will do is edit the layout of the blog, which should be an interesting learning curve for me, and have a separate page with specific features on these books where people can click and read if they are interested.

I would also like to add a page where I list all the books I have reviewed and do a “If you likes this, try this”, type situation.  However, that is in the long term plans.  In the meantime, if any of you reading have any suggestions for improvement, please let me know and I will see if I can use it.

Also, I just want to say a quick thank you to all my subscribers and everyone that is reading this, you have stuck with me through my horrible, infrequent posting, my writing (which is hopefully getting better) and while I try a number of new things to try to get this blog somewhere that I am happy with.  Next week I will be back with another review, hopefully on ‘The Beauty Myth’, and it will be a belter!

Thanks

Amy

Leave a Reply

