The Chrysalids – John Wyndham

I love, sci-fi, it is one of my favourite genres over all media, and therefore, classic sci-fi reads are high up on my “Must get to at some point in my life” list, so when I was looking for something a bit more classic to read after finishing a teen dystopia (I enjoyed it, but it didn’t add anything new to the genre), I thought this would be the perfect choice.

I read the sample I had downloaded (I have about 20 on the go at any time), was sucked in pretty rapidly and purchased the rest. I was hooked on this book from the world go.

Briefly, this is a world where there has been a crisis, and as a result there is a high level of mutation in people, crops, animals, everything, and they are trying to return the world to its original state. It has strong religious overtones, frequently referencing the fact that humans are created in God’s own image, and therefore anything deviating from that, is well, a deviant. In addition any crops and animals that deviate must be burned and/or slaughtered and humans who deviate are sent away out, into parts of the world where the mutation rate is higher and life quality is far far lower.

The story is explored and delivered through a small boy and his experiences of growing up in this world, in his strict household, his reactions to this world around him and the knowledge that he has of his own form of deviancy which is unknown to the outside world at large.

It is wonderfully written and I loved the concept. From the moment I started reading I just couldn’t put it down, however, I felt as though there was more to be explored in this world and where the book ended seem to be where the story should have begun. It was also quite a sinister world in many ways, which could have been explored further. This should be a book with a sequel, so that the themes, characters and stories could have been explored and learned. It was fantastic and I would definitely recommend it, but prepare for what I felt was a lacklustre ending.

Leave a Reply

