E-Books

So this article was on the Guardian website. Since I am obsessed with my Kindle, I felt I should read it.

 http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/2012/feb/05/ebook-sales-downmarket-genre?INTCMP=SRCH

 Quite honestly, I do agree with the argument that e-readers of all kinds do encourage the buying of books you would never normally purchase.

 First of all, as pointed out in the article, who doesn’t sit and download all those classics that you were always going to read when you got round to it. Even better, a lot of them are free! So it isn’t costing you anything to feel a bit more intellectually superior than you did yesterday. Also, you can show off all your fancy classics to your friends and ask “Have YOU read this”, very pointedly implying that they haven’t. This is turn saves you from having to discuss it in any depth, as you haven’t either. Unless your friend, has read it (and lets be honest they probably have, you aren’t really any kind of intellectual heavyweight, and all your friends are smarter than you), in which case you just look like a dick.

 Secondly, I would consider myself a bit of a book snob, I do like to read classics – although, if I am honest, I can find it a bore of a chore sometimes. I like to read contemporary fiction and try to avoid anything too popular and overblown. Hence why I have not read those dragon books, by Steig Larsson (Note: I am aware they are not about dragons). Although I did read all the Harry Potter books and loved them.

Then to the heart of the matter, I am somewhat inclined towards more down market fiction. This, I maintain, was caused by my probable too early reading of Virginia Andrew books. Not due to any inbuilt mental deficiency which was present at birth. However, I am unable to buy these books in person. It always has to be done online so that people can’t see my shameful secret. I only use book stores for purchases which make me look intellectual and that demonstrate I have an incredible natural taste in literature. Apart from that one time I bought the Hunger Games trilogy, which was so embarrassing because there are few things more so, than when you are raking around the young adult section, desperately trying not to attract attention from actual young adults or the parents of young adults or even worse one of the customer advisors.

Then once you have found your purchase, you have to go and pay for it and make an awkward comment about “Oh it’s for my niece”, and then break down and tell them (because you have an inability to lie), “No it’s for me I can’t help it, I just have this constant insatiable craving for teen fiction. It’s why I read Twilight.” Then you get the look of shame from the person and a slight shake of the head and you go home and want to cry, but you can’t, because you are reading amazing teenage fiction. (For the record, ‘Twilight’ is terrible, but so very moreish you can’t quite seem to put it down, whereas “The Hunger Games” books are just amazing.)

However, trashy books are not something I buy all that often, I don’t want any physical evidence of these in my bookcase. Although, my bookshelf is stacked two deep so all the embarrassing ones are at the back. Just in case, you know, you want to come round and hang out sometime and want to have a look at my shameful secret.

It is the same with books based on films, especially films which haven’t been released yet but have had a big press build up, you don’t want to buy these in person because then you are the person who buys books just because there is a film based on them coming out. Hence why I bought World War Z and Atlas Cloud online where no one could see my shame. Apart from the packer. Although I bought “The Hunger Games” and “We Need to Talk About Kevin” before the films had been announced (Yas! Managed to salvage my dignity). The Kindle though, oh my cheeky little minx of a Kindle, lets me buy anything I want online, with no one any the wiser.

 Hence, the purchase of Modelland. I actually bought two copies of this – one for my friends birthday, who still has not read it, and the one for my Kindle, which quite frankly, was overpriced. I also feel that as I bought two copies Tyra is now legally obligated to turn me into a supermodel. I am now probably going to immerse myself in a land of terrible novels composing of Danielle Steele, more Virginia Andrews and maybe some Mills and Boone, for good measure. Also, probably more teen fiction. Well, I DO still have to read the book following “The Knife of Never Letting Go”. Which to be honest as it contains the whole of the title of “Never Let Me Go” (which, I will point out, I also read before the film was announced), confused me quite a lot. Although Never Let Me Go, is superior and a book I just couldn’t put down. If you haven’t seen the film, or read spoilers, you should read it, if only for the point where everything clicks and you work out what is going on.

 Anyway, where was I going, oh yes. My Kindle will inspire me to read more trashy novels also known as “Vaginal Fantasy”, a delightful concept apparently created by the wonderfully talented Felicia Day – you should check out her website (http://feliciaday.com/) or goodreads account (http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3440476.Felicia_Day) for more details.

 Having said that, I am not giving up all my book credentials just yet. I intend to very much mix and match, after reading Game of Thrones, I needed some mind down time, hence Modelland. Currently I am reading Woman on the Edge of time, which is spectacular and I get excited every time I find I have time to read it. Then I have War of the Worlds, which I am so excited about reading, then I have one about Bess of Hardwick, ok so, I have a lot of books to read. guess the whole point of this is, there is no fun in being a snob, not only about books, but about anything. You secretly love 90210 (well, in my case, not so secretly), that’s fine, but you also watch a range of other excellent programming like Deadwood, Game of Thrones, Boardwalk Empire, The Sopranos, Mad Men. Just because you like one thing which is a guilty pleasure, doesn’t negate all the other awesome stuff you do love. And if anyone judges you on that, they are clearly a prick

 

Leave a Reply

